Whey protein has been the latest buzzword of this millennium. Everybody is a fitness freak and wants to have that perfect body that everyone loves and admires. While diet and exercise do the major weight lifting, it is not unnatural for us to turn to protein powders for our needs and that is why they are so popular. This article is for all those who would want to know about whey protein but can’t try it yet as you want to know the specifics. We would tell you if the whey protein is gluten-free along with some other popular questions that may have baffled you.
What Is Whey Protein And Is Whey Protein Gluten-Free?
Whey protein can simply be defined as the residue collected after milk is extracted for cheese. It is highly potent when it comes to protein and hence is preferred by many. To break it down for you, milk has whey and casein in terms of proteins and is often separated using a complex process. It is also separated from fat and lactose which makes it full of amino acids.
Moreover, it also can make amino acids when the body has none and is in a powdery form when compared to its liquid remnants. Whey Protein could be of 3 types which include low protein and fats and carbohydrates, the second type with a bit more, and the third type with 100 percent whey protein which is the best among them.
So is whey protein gluten-free? Gluten is a sticky substance that is seen in wheat which makes it difficult for those with an autoimmune disease to digest it. Celiac disease is a condition where the body starts attacking gluten considering it a foreign substance and hence the attack is self-launched. Prolamin faction in these could damage the body. If they consume substances with gluten, it could lead to various consequences which include inflammation in the lining of the small intestine.
People with celiac disease who cannot eat gluten substances should be very careful when dealing with food that goes into their small intestines. To answer the question, whey is gluten-free. Whey as stated above is derived from milk which could be a problem for lactose intolerant individuals. However, when it comes to gluten, there is no chance for it to show up in the milk. This is because milk is primarily constituted by lactose and casein.
However, if you are gluten-allergic, you should not take risks as low-quality whey might have traces of gluten thanks to cross-contamination. This can be solved by choosing high-graded products with 100% whey and those that are made with high-quality products. Moreover, you can also look at the labels that say that are specifically gluten-free. With a strict diet and constant care from the health professional anyone with celiac disease could use whey protein.
How To Take Gluten-Free Whey Protein?
To take whey protein regularly, you can follow the steps-
- Mix it with liquid- The best way to take protein is to use it by mixing it in water and making a shake out of it. You can use dairy-free products to make the shake and opt for soy milk or oats.
- Smoothies- For smoothies, you can use fruits, vegetables, and other gluten-free products to make you a tasty smoothie.
- Add to foods- You can also add whey protein to your foods by adding it to yogurt or fruit assortments.
- Baking- You can also use gluten-free whey protein to bake muffins or pancakes. However, make sure all the products you use are gluten-free completely to avoid problems. In case you are dieting, go sugar-free.
- Post-workout sync- Whey protein is eaten to gain muscles, so when you are consuming it make sure to use it along with your muscle training.
- Consult with a dietitian- Even if we try our best, it is not very healthy to experiment with food products especially when it comes to celiac disease. So you must consult a dietitian and let them make a list for you. This can help you save from cross-contamination and your accidental consumption of gluten substances.
- Meal replacement- It is also a better choice to use whey protein to replace your regular meals including lunch, dinner, or breakfast.
Are There Any Side Effects Of Whey Protein?
Like any other substance, whey protein could also have side effects including-
1. Allergic reactions- In some cases, people could develop symptoms of allergic reaction including redness, itching, and anaphylactic shock in extreme cases.
2. Digestive issues- Gas, cramps, or bloating could also be common problems when it comes to consuming whey protein. This could be because the consumer is sensitive to lactose and could be lactose intolerant.
3. Kidney strain- Some studies also show that kidneys can be put under strain if the whey is used more often. Young individuals with healthy kidneys might not have a problem but for those with kidney problems, it might be difficult.
4. Weight gain Weight gain is another side-effect of eating whey protein in large quantities. Therefore one should make sure the quantity is controlled along with the by-products.
5. Interference with medications- It could be possible that whey protein could be interfering with the regular medications you take. To get a detailed result, you might want to talk to your dietitian or health care professional.
Whey protein can be widely used by those who are concentrating to make muscles and gain weight. However, those with gluten allergy should make sure that the whey they use is of high quality to avoid cross-contamination. Whey on it is own has no gluten in it and can be eaten by celiac disease patients. Several ways could be used to include whey in your diet. Shakes, smoothies, or slushies are all good ways to eat it. You could even try to add it to your choice of milk or products and replace it with meals easily. Contacting a healthcare professional should be your first step when there is any case of allergy.